Publication Support

Accredited Journals

Are the research output recognised for their credibility, trustworthy and meet all the criterion standards set and qualify for a subsidy by the Department of Higher Education (DoHET) and will be considered for NRF evaluation.

To find a list of Accredited Journals please click HERE.

Accredited journals

The Department of Education defines an accredited/approved journal as follows:

Journals refer to peer-reviewed periodical publications devoted to disseminating original research and new developments within specific disciplines, sub-disciplines or field of study. These include original articles, research letters, research papers, and review articles. However, only approved journals are subsidised.

The lists of Sabinet African Journals’ accredited journals:


National Research Fund (NRF) Rating

About Rating

The NRF rating system is a key driver in the NRF’s aim to build a globally competitive science system in South Africa. It is a valuable tool for benchmarking the quality of our researchers against the best in the world.  NRF ratings are allocated based on a researcher’s recent research outputs and impact as perceived by international peer reviewers. The rating system encourages researchers to publish high quality outputs in high impact journals/outlets. Rated researchers as supervisors will impart cutting-edge skills to the next generation of researchers.

The rating of individuals is based primarily on the quality and impact of their research outputs over the past eight years, taking into consideration the evaluation made by local and international peers. It identifies researchers who count among the leaders in their fields of expertise and gives recognition to those who constantly produce high quality research outputs. Several South African universities use the outcomes of the NRF evaluation and rating process to position themselves as research-intensive institutions, while others provide incentives for their staff members to acquire and maintain a rating and give special recognition to top-rated researchers.

The rating process is coordinated by members of academia who are represented in the following committees:

  • 27 Specialist Committees coordinated by a Convener
  • The Executive Evaluation Committee
  • The Appeals Committee

The ratings that are awarded fall within the following categories:

  • A – Leading international researchers
  • B – Internationally acclaimed researchers
  • C – Established researchers
  • P – Prestigious Awards
  • Y – Promising young researchers